We all know that classic dishes like the baked lasagna, meat-packed burger, creamy soups, sliced meats and sizzling dishes don’t really scream “vegan”. However, it doesn’t mean it can’t be. So, can vegans eat pizza? Of course, vegans eat pizza. But only a specific, yet fresh and delicious kind. Better start that oven up because your mouth is going to be watering while you read this.
Is Pizza Vegan?
Is pizza vegan? The short answer is that it depends on what kind of pizza you make at home or order at a pizzeria. If vegan food is part of your diet, chances are that you’ll be able to enjoy a vegan pizza. Most store-bought pizzas contain animal products including cheese, but there are vegan pizzas with vegetarian-friendly pizza toppings like olives, peppers and mushrooms. Making home-made vegan pizzas can be just as tasty and jam packed with flavor. All vegans need not miss out on the deliciousness that pizza has to offer; all it takes is some vegan toppings and vegan ingredients and viola. You can have your pizza on your menu again. But are there not a lot of types of vegan pizzas out there?
Fret not since pizza is one of the most perfect vegan foods out there, with countless varieties based entirely around vegan ingredients. It’s as if vegan pizzas were made just for us! No vegan diet should ever be without it. All you need to do is make sure that the vegan cheese and sauce you use are dairy-free and plant-based, and you’ll have a perfect vegan pizza in no time. Great and even the best vegan pizza can be surprisingly easy to make at home with many recipes available online that provide step-by-step instructions – all free of charge.
Can a Vegan Eat Pizza?
We get this question a lot. Can a vegan eat pizza? The beauty of vegan cooking is that many food items you enjoy can be made into a vegan version using plant-based ingredients, such as vegan cheese, tomato sauce and delectable veggies like eggplant, onions, linguini, mushroom, garlic, spinach, tomato, and cauliflower, just to name a few. But where do you start? There are plenty of resources available to make the transition easier. Many specialty stores offer vegan versions of cheese, sauce and other staples so you can make your pizza. If department stores don’t carry those items, recipes for homemade bases, alternatives to cheese and lots of combinations for toppings make making the perfect pizza easy!
You may opt for hummus-based sauce instead of dairy-based to make yourself some great vegan pizza. And don’t forget the vegetables! Any combination of vegetables would make great additions. Experimenting with different recipes will make you enjoy pizza the vegan way. After all, variety is the spice of life!
What Vegans Can Eat on Pizza
Instead of the all-time favorite toppings of meat foods and products like pepperoni, pork, BBQ, sirloin, egg, clams or other seafood, along with the usual mozzarella or cheddar, vegans can get in on the pizza fun, too! Plant-based eaters have plenty of gourmet pizza options made with vegan cheeses and delicious sauces to choose from, whether they prefer a marinara base or cheese-less pie. For the vegan cheese fans out there, explore your local shop for their range of vegan-friendly cheeses made with herbs, spices and other dairy-free ingredients. For veggie lovers and whole food fans, build your own vegetable pizza on a whole grain base made with freshly chopped tomatoes and herbs; free from any animal ingredients.
Vegan Cheese Pizza
Making your vegan pizza from fresh ingredients is one of the best ways to get your favorite Italian dish without needing to consume any meat products. Vegan cheese pizza recipes are becoming increasingly more popular, and for good reason! From the fresh, thin crust topped with vegan cheese products to never-before-seen combinations like some fresh spinach, oil, vegan cheese or mozzarella, and whatever other veggie toppings your heart desires! Of course, for those who aren’t familiar with making their own pizza at home or don’t have the time to do so, there are pre-made vegan pizzas available in many grocery stores today and various pizzerias. Enjoy your fresh vegan cheese pizza served up with some fresh kale chips for a perfect night in (or out)!
Vegan Pizza Toppings
When it comes to vegan pizza toppings, vegetable ingredients are the best option for creating a mouthwatering pie. Nowadays, it’s easier than ever to order and make pizza with fresh and vegan-friendly ingredients such as plant-based cheese, a vegetable-packed crust, and gluten-free bases from pizza chains like Pizza Hut. For vegetarians looking for classic toppings that are vegan-friendly, vegetable-based ingredients such as mushrooms and hearty tomatoes are natural choices. With the right ingredients carefully chosen and cooked properly, you can get creative when crafting your own delicious pizzas at home or indulge in vegan options from restaurants.
Vegan Pizza Options
As we have been leading on so far, vegan pizzas offer an increasingly varied and delicious array of options for plant-based eaters. Delicious sauces, fresh vegetables, and amazing vegan cheese can all be included on pizza dough made without yeast and featuring vegan ingredients. Although many vegan pizzas use store-bought doughs and toppings, some cooks prefer to make their own pizza dough from plants and yeast that are ground or milled for the best possible texture. Pizza sauce can also be created with ingredients like tomatoes, garlic, oregano and chili flakes for a sauce that is completely free of animal products. New combinations of vegan foods are coming up every day, making vegan pizza options better than ever before!
Restaurants with Vegan Pizza
Many restaurants serve vegan pizza, with the crust made from grains or legumes such as cornmeal, chickpea flour, or quinoa. The crust is often oil-free and replaced with flavorful ingredients like sun-dried tomatoes for a juicy bite. Popular vegan meat substitutes on these pizzas include spicy seitan sausage and plant-based pepperoni. These restaurants also offer many specials of unique vegan pies crafted to delight even the most sophisticated palette. As pizzas are cooked in a traditional oven with a stone peel, utilizing pizza stones ensures that each vegan pizza is cooked evenly without any cross contamination. To find out which pizzerias near you serve vegan options, check their website or look on Google Maps.
Vegetarians and vegans no longer have to settle for a side salad at restaurants anymore! Restaurants across the country are now offering vegan pizzas so that everyone can indulge in this fan favorite. Not only do these restaurants offer delicious meals, but they often provide party catering, corporate catering, and even catering kids. From small family gatherings to big corporate events, catering reservations remain flexible to accommodate all party sizes.
Does this make you hungry at all? If it does, it might be time to go shopping for some vegan pizza ingredients, or visit a local restaurant that serves vegan pizza!